تاريخ البندق

كانت البندق مفضلة للإنسان منذ أيام ما قبل التاريخ. يُعتبرون رمزًا للحكمة والمعرفة ، فضلاً عن الخصوبة والخصوبة ، وغالبًا ما يظهر في تقاليد الزفاف في جميع أنحاء شمال أوروبا. ستجد إشارات إلى البندق في الكتابات اليونانية والرومانية القديمة - وصف الفيلسوف اليوناني ثيوفراستوس (372-287 قبل الميلاد) فوائد البندق في أعماله - وفي الكتاب المقدس ، حيث تم الإشادة بالبندق لقدرته الغذائية والشفائية.

Origins

بدأت أصول تراث البندق في ولاية أوريغون في بلدة سكوتسبرج الصغيرة في عام 1856 ، عندما تقاعد البحار الإنجليزي سام ستريكلاند من شركة Hudson's Bay واستقر في مجتمع مقاطعة دوغلاس الصغير حيث زرع أول شجرة بندق معروفة في شمال غرب المحيط الهادئ ، في الأسهم الأوروبية كوريلس أفيلانا.

لم يعلم سام أنه بعد أكثر من 160 عامًا ، من تلك الشجرة الأولى التي زرعها ، ستزدهر تقاليد ولاية أوريغون لإنتاج أجود أنواع البندق في العالم. يجتمع مزيج وادي ويلاميت المثالي بين المناخ المعتدل والتربة البركانية الغنية والمياه المتدفقة من جبال كاسكيد لصنع حبات البندق ذات النكهة الكاملة المطلوبة في جميع أنحاء العالم.

اليوم

بعد ما يقرب من نصف قرن من زرع ستريكلاند لشجرته الأولى ، بدأ جورج دوريس من سبرينجفيلد أول بستان تجاري للولاية مع 200 شجرة برشلونة المزروعة على أكثر من 5 فدادين من الأرض ، وبيع محصوله إلى متجر ماير وفرانك الموقر ليتم بيعه في 10 أكياس رطل للعملاء المتحمسين والجائعين. لا تزال مزرعة Dorris Ranch Living History Farm تعمل حتى يومنا هذا ، حيث ترحب بآلاف الزوار كل عام للسير عبر 13 بستانًا مختلفًا للبندق. من مخزون مشتل Dorris نشأ ما يقدر بنحو 50 في المائة من جميع أشجار البندق التي يتم إنتاجها اليوم في جميع أنحاء وادي ويلاميت.

هاتف:

503-982-8030

العنوان:

صندوق بريد 276 هوبارد ، أو 97032

Hazelnut History

Hazelnuts have been a favorite of man since prehistoric days. They are considered a symbol of wisdom and knowledge, as well as fecundity and fertility, often featured in wedding traditions throughout Northern Europe. You’ll find references to hazelnuts in ancient Greek and Roman writings – the Greek philosopher Theophrastus (372-287 BC) described the benefits of hazelnuts in his works–and in the Bible, where hazelnuts are lauded for their nutritional and healing powers.

Origins

The origins of Oregon’s hazelnut legacy started in the little town of Scottsburg in 1856, when English sailor Sam Strickland retired from the Hudson’s Bay Company and settled in a small Douglas County community where he planted the first known hazelnut tree in the Pacific Northwest, of the European stock Corylus avellana.

Little did Sam know that more than 160 years later, from that first tree he planted, would blossom an Oregon tradition of producing the world’s finest hazelnuts. The Willamette Valley’s perfect blend of temperate climate, rich volcanic soils, and waters flowing from the Cascade Mountains, come together to create full-flavored hazelnuts sought throughout the world.

Today

Nearly a half-century after Strickland planted his first tree, George Dorris of Springfield started the state’s first commercial orchard with 200 Barcelona trees planted on over 5 acres of land, selling his crop to the venerable Meier and Frank department store to be sold in 10-pound bags to eager and hungry customers. The Dorris Ranch Living History Farm still operates to this day, welcoming thousands of visitors each year to walk through its 13 different hazelnut orchards. From Dorris’ nursery stock sprung an estimated 50 percent of all hazelnut trees in production today throughout the Willamette Valley.

Address:

P.O. Box 276 Hubbard, OR 97032