榛子历史

榛子自史前时代以来一直是人类的最爱。 它们被认为是智慧和知识以及繁殖力和生育能力的象征,通常出现在整个北欧的婚礼传统中。 您会在古希腊和罗马著作中找到对榛子的提及——希腊哲学家 Theophrastus(公元前 372-287 年)在他的作品中描述了榛子的好处——以及在圣经中,榛子因其营养和治疗能力而受到称赞。

源起

俄勒冈州榛子遗产的起源始于 1856 年的斯科茨堡小镇,当时英国水手 Sam Strickland 从哈德逊湾公司退休并定居在道格拉斯县的一个小社区,在那里他种植了太平洋西北部第一棵已知的榛子树。欧洲股票 榛子.

山姆几乎不知道,160 多年后,从他种下的第一棵树开始,俄勒冈州的传统生产世界上最好的榛子就会开花结果。 威拉米特山谷完美地融合了温带气候、肥沃的火山土壤和来自喀斯喀特山脉的水源,共同打造出享誉全球的风味浓郁的榛子。

今天

在斯特里克兰种下他的第一棵树将近半个世纪后,斯普林菲尔德的乔治·多里斯 (George Dorris) 开设了该州第一个商业果园,在超过 200 英亩的土地上种植了 5 棵巴塞罗那树,将他的作物卖给了著名的迈耶和弗兰克百货公司,并于 10 年内出售-磅袋给渴望和饥饿的顾客。 Dorris Ranch Living History Farm 至今仍在运营,每年欢迎成千上万的游客参观其 13 个不同的榛子园。 据估计,今天威拉米特山谷中生产的所有榛子树中有 50% 来自 Dorris 的苗木。

电话:

503-982-8030

地址:

邮政信箱 276 哈伯德,或 97032

Hazelnut History

Hazelnuts have been a favorite of man since prehistoric days. They are considered a symbol of wisdom and knowledge, as well as fecundity and fertility, often featured in wedding traditions throughout Northern Europe. You’ll find references to hazelnuts in ancient Greek and Roman writings – the Greek philosopher Theophrastus (372-287 BC) described the benefits of hazelnuts in his works–and in the Bible, where hazelnuts are lauded for their nutritional and healing powers.

Origins

The origins of Oregon’s hazelnut legacy started in the little town of Scottsburg in 1856, when English sailor Sam Strickland retired from the Hudson’s Bay Company and settled in a small Douglas County community where he planted the first known hazelnut tree in the Pacific Northwest, of the European stock Corylus avellana.

Little did Sam know that more than 160 years later, from that first tree he planted, would blossom an Oregon tradition of producing the world’s finest hazelnuts. The Willamette Valley’s perfect blend of temperate climate, rich volcanic soils, and waters flowing from the Cascade Mountains, come together to create full-flavored hazelnuts sought throughout the world.

Today

Nearly a half-century after Strickland planted his first tree, George Dorris of Springfield started the state’s first commercial orchard with 200 Barcelona trees planted on over 5 acres of land, selling his crop to the venerable Meier and Frank department store to be sold in 10-pound bags to eager and hungry customers. The Dorris Ranch Living History Farm still operates to this day, welcoming thousands of visitors each year to walk through its 13 different hazelnut orchards. From Dorris’ nursery stock sprung an estimated 50 percent of all hazelnut trees in production today throughout the Willamette Valley.

Address:

P.O. Box 276 Hubbard, OR 97032